The Midnight - Sometimes She Smiles

from Vehlinggo Presents: 5 Years by Various Artists

  • Digital Track
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $1 USD  or more

    You own this


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Six-panel wallet with liner notes -- and a new tracklisting sequence that makes the compilation a whole new film:

    1. Anoraak - Panarea
    2. Parallels - The Magic Hour
    3. FM Attack - Paradise
    4. Bunny X - Revolving Doors
    5. The Midnight - Sometimes She Smiles
    6. Le Matos - Rage Of Honor
    7. Betamaxx - Hi-NRG
    8. Johan Agebjörn - Have You Ever Been In Love? (Feat. Tom Hooker) [Wolfram Dub]
    9. Maethelvin - Dance Through The Night
    10. In Mirrors - Gold (Instrumental)
    11. Forgotten Illusions - Girl On Video
    12. Diamond Field & Dana Jean Phoenix - Freedom Pass
    13. Deadly Avenger - Your Phone Is Off The Hook, But You're Not
    14. Mecha Maiko - Selfless
    15. VH x RR - She Sees A Future
    16. Metavari - Be What You See (Extended)
    17. Highway Superstar - Slow Motion (Feat. Zoe Polanski)

    Includes unlimited streaming of Vehlinggo Presents: 5 Years via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ... more
    shipping out on or around March 1, 2021
    edition of 100 

      $12 USD or more 

    You own this  



"I was living in Santa Monica, four blocks from the ocean. I’d been working a lot, but there wasn’t much happening with music. I left my then-fiancée in the apartment and took a walk to reflect on my momentary unhappiness, and on a park bench at Ashland and Barnard Way I wrote the lyrics — not intending it to be a song — to …Sometimes She Smiles. I think it was an unconscious drive to recalibrate the Doing/Knowing part of me (that always seems to lead) with the Being/Feeling part of myself (that I always seem to be lacking).

"Alternatively, it could just be a fictional conversation between me and my wife about my stubbornness. Either way, the bones that are breaking in his head are always mine, and the more evolved response (which is usually my wife’s) is just to smile, knowingly. This loop was kicking around Tim’s hard drive around the time that Days of Thunder was coming together."- Tyler Lyle, one-half of The Midnight.


from Vehlinggo Presents: 5 Years, released November 1, 2019
Written by Tyler Lyle and Tim McEwan. Produced and mixed by Tim McEwan.


all rights reserved



Vehlinggo Presents Brooklyn, New York

A website, podcast, and multimedia platform since 2014. This is Vehlinggo's new, official Bandcamp presence!

contact / help

Contact Vehlinggo Presents

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this track or account